Basic Sciences Faculty

Samuel E. Adunyah

Samuel E. Adunyah, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience & Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6446
Email: sadunyah@mmc.edu

Zhenbang Chen

Zhenbang Chen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5775
Email: zchen@mmc.edu

Salil Das

Salil K. Das, D.Sc.

Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6988
Email: sdas@mmc.edu

Chandravanu Dash

Chandravanu Dash, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6996
Email: cdash@mmc.edu

Jamaine Davis

Jamaine Davis, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.963.2847
Email: jdavis@mmc.edu

Sakina Eltom

Sakina E. Eltom, D.V.M, Ph.D.

Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5713
Email: seltom@mmc.edu

Shawn Goodwin

J. Shawn Goodwin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6588
Email:jgoodwin@mmc.edu

Amosy E. M'Koma

Amosy E. M’Koma, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6796
Email: amkoma@mmc.edu

Josiah Ochieng

Josiah Ochieng, Ph. D.

Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6119
Email: jochieng@mmc.edu

Ben Ogunkua

Olugbemiga Ogunkua, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6694
Email: oogunkua@mmc.edu

Aramandla Ramesh

Aramandla Ramesh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6486
Email: aramesh@mmc.edu

Dr. Anil Shanker

Anil Shanker, Ph.D.

Professor

Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience and Pharmacology

School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6460

Email: ashanker@mmc.edu

LaMonica Stewart

LaMonica Stewart, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6749
Email: lstewart@mmc.edu

Manuel Valenzuela

Manuel Valenzuela, Ph.D.

Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6253
Email: mvalenzuela@mmc.edu

Deok-Soo Son

Deok-Soo Son, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6501
Email: dson@mmc.edu

Marian Asmah-Addai

Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 615.327.6345/6571
Email: maddai@mmc.edu

Maria T. Prudente de Aquino, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Phone: 615.327.5704
Email: mpdeaquino@mmc.edu

Guoliang Li, Ph.D.

Research Associate
Phone: 615.327.3186
Email: gli@mmc.edu

Gladys Simuyu, Ph.D.

Research Associate
Phone: 615.327.5609
Email: gsimuyu@mmc.edu

Rosa Mistica Ignacio, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Associate
615.327.6501
Email: ragnacio@mmc.edu

Denise Holland

Program Coordinator
Meharry Translational Research Center (MeTRC/NIMHD)
Phone: 615.327.6884
Email: dholland@mmc.edu

Muthukumar Balasubramamiam, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Phone: 615.327.6188
Email: mbalasubramaniam@mmc.edu

Tanu Rana, Ph.D.

Research Associate
Phone: 615.327.6667
Email: tnana@mmc.edu

Clivel Charlton

Clivel Charlton

Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School:Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6971
Email: ccharlton@mmc.edu

Sukhbir S. Mokha

Sukhbir S.Mokha, Ph.D.

Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6933
Email: smokha@mmc.edu

Sanika S. Chirwa

Sanika S. Chirwa, Ph.D.

Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6934
Email: schirwa@mmc.edu

Subodh Nag

Subodh Nag, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6130
Email: snag@mmc.edu

Tultul Nayyar

Tultul Nayyar, Ph.D., MSCI

Director/Master of Health Sciences Program;
Assistant Professor, Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School: Graduate Studies & Research

Phone: 615.327.6898
Email: tnayyar@mmc.edu

Akiko Shimamoto

Akiko Shimamoto, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6291
Email: ashimamoto@mmc.edu

Camilla Ethridge

Administrative Assistant, Senior
Phone: 615.327.6510
Email: cethridge@mmc.edu

Ella L. Hamilton

Program Manager – DIDARP grant
Center for Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience
Phone: 615-327-6875
Email: ehamilton@mmc.edu

Fernando Villalta

Fernando Villalta, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6667
Email: fvillalta@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Ujjal K. Singha, Ph.D.

Instructor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology

Phone: 615.327.6281
Email: usingha@mmc.edu

Minu Chaudhuri

Minu Chaudhuri, Ph.D.

Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5726
Email: mchaudhuri@mmc.edu

Robert Holt

Robert Holt, Ph.D.

Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6673
Email: rholt@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Girish Rachakonda, Ph.D.

Instructor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology

Phone: 615.327.6175
Email: grachakonda@mmc.edu

Donald Alcendor

Donald Alcendor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Health Disparities and HIV
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6449
Email: dalcendor@mmc.edu

Pius N. Nde

Pius N. Nde, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6175
Email: pnde@mmc.edu

Xinhong Dong

Xinhong Dong, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Health Disparities and HIV
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6464
Email: xdong@mmc.edu

Bingdong Liu

Bindong Liu, Ph.D

Professor
Health Disparities and HIV
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6877
Email: bindong@mmc.edu

Dorin Borza

Dorin-Bogdan Borza, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology

School: Medicine

Phone: 615.963.2833

Email: dborza@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Byeongwoon Song, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology

School: Medicine
Phone: 615.327.6698
Email: bsong@mmc.edu

Siddharth Pratap, Ph.D.

Director of Bioinformatics & Proteomics
Phone: 615.327.6281
Email: spratap@mmc.edu

Victor Paromov Ph.D.

Proteomics Core Associate Manager
Phone: 615.327.6564
Email: vparomov@mmc.edu

Robert Holt, Ph.D.

Director, Molecular Biology Core Facility
Phone: 615.327.6673
Email: rholt@mmc.edu

Bindong Liu

Director of Flow Cytometry Core
Director of BSL-3 Facility (CAHDR)
Phone: 615.327.6877
Email: bliu@mmc.edu

Xinhong Dong, Ph.D.

Director of the BSL-3 Facility
Microbiology and Immunology Department
Phone: 615.327.6464
Email: xdong@mmc.edu

Byeongwoon Song, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Health Disparities and HIV
School: Medicine
Phone: 615.327.6698
Email: bsong@mmc.edu

Hubert K. Rucker, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Terrence S. Dermody, M.D.

Adjunct Faculty

Etheleen M. Hill, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Mark Levitch, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Evangeline Motley-Johnson

Evangeline Motley-Johnson, Ph.D

Professor,
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology, School of Medicine;
Associate Dean,
School of Graduate Studies & Research

Phone: 615.327.6167
Email: emotley@mmc.edu

Anthony E. Archibong

Anthony E. Archibong, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5714
Email: aarchibong@mmc.edu

Zhongmao Guo

Zhongmao Guo, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6804
Email: zguo@mmc.edu

Emmanuel Okoro

Emmanuel Okoro, M.D.

Instructor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6537
Email: eokoro@mmc.edu

Hong Yang

Hong Yang, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5772
Email: hyang@mmc.edu

C. Lynn Ethridge

Administrative Assistant, Senior
Phone: 615.327.6510
Email: cethridge@mmc.edu

Division of Clinical Skills & Competencies

Regina Offodile_2019 sq

Regina Offodile, M.D.

Interim Chair Professional and Medical Education, Chief of Clinical Skills, Associate Professor

School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6342
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: roffodile@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Elochukwu Ezekakpu, M.D.

Assistant Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5939
Email: eekakpu@mmc.edu

Carolyn Szetela

Carolyn Szetela, Ph.D.

Associate professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5909
Email: cszetela@mmc.edu

Adrienne Hicks

Adrienne Hicks, M.S.N., B.S.N.

Assistant Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6353
Email: ahicks@mmc.edu

Chelsey Bradley, Med

Teaching Assistant
Phone: 615.327.5938
Email: cbradley@mmc.edu

Dawn Zwart, BA, EMT-Paramedic

Simulation Lab Manager
Phone: 615.327.6565
Email: dzwart@mmc.edu

Division of Integrated Didactics

Regina Offodile_2019 sq

Regina Offodile, M.D.

Interim Chair, Professional and Medical Education

School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6342
Email: roffodile@mmc.edu

Dr. Larry Alexnader_0543 sq

Larry D. Alexander, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Curriculum and Innovation,
Associate Professor Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6987
Email: ldalexander@mmc.edu

Emmanuel Atta-Asafo-Adjei

Emmanuel Atta-Asafo-Adjei, Ph.D.

Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6578
Email: eadjei@mmc.edu

Anita F. Austin

Anita F. Austin, M.A.T., M.A., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6418
Email: aaustin@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Tameka A. Clemons, PhD

Assistant Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6000
Email: tclemons@mmc.edu

Susan DeRiemer

Susan DeRiemer, Ph.D.

Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone:615.327.6050
Email: sderiemer@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Stany Lobo, PhD

Associate Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6000
Email: slobo@mmc.edu

Cassandra Ward

Cassandra Ward, Ed.D.

Associate Dean
Curriculum Evaluation & Effectiveness
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6048
Email: cward@mmc.edu

Alfred M. Nyanda

Alfred M. Nyanda, Ph.D.

Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6257
Email: anyanda@mmc.edu

Shyamali Mukherjee

Shyamali Mukherjee, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicin

Phone: 615.327.6299
Email: smukherjee@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Rana Tanu, PhD

Assistant Professor
Professional and Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6000
Email: trana@mmc.edu

Bruce A. Johnson

Embalmer/Anatomical Coordinator
Anatomical Donations
Phone: 615.327.6944
Email: bajohnson@mmc.edu