Administration

School of Medicine Dean

HARRIS-HAYWOOD HEADSHOT sq

Sonja Harris-Haywood, M.D., MS, MA

Dean, School of Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6310
Email: sharrishaywood@mmc.edu

Associate Deans

Roland E. Jones

Roland E. Jones, D.B.A., M.P.A., M.B.A.

Associate Dean
Business & Finance
School of Medicine Dean’s Office
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6122
Email: rjones@mmc.edu

Cassandra Ward

Cassandra Ward, Ed.D.

Senior Associate Dean
Curriculum Evaluation & Effectiveness
School of Medicine Dean’s Office
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6048
Email: cward@mmc.edu

Monque F. Bennerman_8151

Monique M. Forskin (Bennerman) Duncan, M.D., FACP

Senior Associate Dean for Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: mbennerman@mmc.edu

Billy R. Ballard

Billy R. Ballard, M.D., D.D.S.

Associate Dean
Continuing Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6636
Email: brballard@mmc.edu

Theodora Pinnock

Theodora Pinnock, M.D.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5848
Email: tpinnock@mmc.edu

Susanne Tropez-Sims

Susanne Tropez-Sims, M.D., M.P.H.

Associate Dean of Clinical Affiliations
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6925
Email: stsims@mmc.edu

Sakina E. Eltom

Sakina E. Eltom, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Interim Chair for Professional Medical Education & Assistant Dean, Pre-clinical Curriculum

School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6658
Email: seltom@mmc.edu

Basic Sciences

Samuel E. Adunyah

Samuel E. Adunyah, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6446
Email: sadunyah@mmc.edu

Dr. Chandravanu Dash_0697SQ

Chandravanu Dash, Ph.D.

Interim Chair and Professor
Microbiology, Immunology and Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6996
Email: cdash@mmc.edu

Sakina Eltom

Sakina E. Eltom, D.V.M, Ph.D.

Interim Chair for Professional Medical Education & Assistant Dean, Pre-clinical Curriculum

School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6658
Email: seltom@mmc.edu

Clinical Sciences

sanford-barsky

Sanford H. Barsky, M.D.

Chair and Professor, Pathology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6663
Email: sbarsky@mmc.edu

Jamie North Ware

Jamie Ware, M.D.

Interim Chair and Professor OB/GYN
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5805
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: jware@mmc.edu

Millard D. Collins

Millard D. Collins, M.D.

Chair and Associate Professor
Family and Community Medicine
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6572
Appointments: 615.860.7511
Email: mcollins@mmc.edu

Carlton Adams

Carlton Z. Adams, M.D.

Chair
Associate Professor Surgery
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6342
Email: czadams@mmc.edu

Lloyda Williamson

Lloyda Williamson, M.D., D.F.A.P.A.

Chair and Professor
Psychiatry
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6606
Email: lwilliamson@mmc.edu

Xylina D. Bean

Xylina D. Bean, M.D.

Chair and Professor
Pediatric Medicine
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6332
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: xbean@mmc.edu

Michelle Nichols 4.2024 sq

Michelle L. Nichols, M.D., MS, MBA, FAAFP

Senior Vice President, Clinical Affairs
Designated Institutional Official (DIO)

Phone: 615.327.6914
Email: mlnichols@mmc.edu

Walter Parker

Walter Parker, MBA, CPA, JD

Fiscal Officer
Meharry Medical Group
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.963.3176
Email: wparker@mmc.edu

Linda Stone_8293

Linda Stone

Executive Assistant
Meharry Medical Group
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6914
Email: lstone@mmc.edu

Monque F. Bennerman_8151

Monique M. Forskin (Bennerman) Duncan, M.D., FACP

Senior Associate Dean for Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: mbennerman@mmc.edu

Long Joseph_8159

Joseph Long

Administrative Coordinator
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6959
Email: jlong@mmc.edu

James Ensley

James Ensley

Director, Computer-based Training
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.321.2984
Email: jensley@mmc.edu

Michelle Randle_8166

Michele C. Randle, MSP

Career Advising
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6625
Email: mrandle@mmc.edu

M. Johnson

Mitzy H. Johnson, Ed.D.

Director of Special Programs
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5966
Email: mjohnson@mmc.edu

Carmen Jones_8163

Carmen Jones

Director of Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6413
Email: cnjones@mmc.edu

The Office of Student Academic Affairs (OSAA) advocates on behalf of various student needs. We encourage students to drop by and get familiar with the services offered before an issue becomes chronic, particularly during any transitional periods that may occur during their time at Meharry.

We are here to assist you with:

  • Academic counseling
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Letters of good academic standing
  • Dean’s letters
  • Registration
  • Class schedules
  • Clerkship schedules
  • Issues related to the USMLE and NBME examinations
  • Subject-board concerns
  • Student correspondence, including financial aid
  • ERAS applications
  • Dean’s Excuses
  • VSAS information
  • Monitoring of computer testing

Please consider our office your ‘safe zone’ during your time at Meharry, a place where you are welcome and will have needs met efficiently.

The Office of Business, Finance, and Administration leads the planning, staffing, and budgeting for the

Meharry Medical College School of Medicine. For more information about our services and responsibilities, please click here.

Roland E. Jones

Roland E. Jones, D.B.A., M.P.A., M.B.A.

Associate Dean
Business & Finance
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6122
Email: rjones@mmc.edu

Leon Blandon_8197

Leon Blandon, III

Senior Fiscal Officer
Business & Finance
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6907
Email: lblandon@mmc.edu

Walter Parker

Walter Parker, MBA, CPA, JD

Fiscal Officer
Meharry Medical Group
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.963.3176
Email: wparker@mmc.edu