Administration

School of Medicine Dean

Digna S. Forbes

Digna S. Forbes, M.D.

Interim Dean, School of Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6429
Email: dforbes@mmc.edu

Senior Associate Dean

Stephanie McClure

Stephanie C. McClure, M.D., FACP

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6413
Email: smcclure@mmc.edu

Associate Deans

Roland E. Jones

Roland E. Jones, D.B.A., M.P.A., M.B.A.

Associate Dean
Business & Finance
School of Medicine Dean’s Office
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6122
Email: rjones@mmc.edu

Cassandra Ward

Cassandra Ward, Ed.D.

Associate Dean
Curriculum Evaluation & Effectiveness
School of Medicine Dean’s Office
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6048
Email: cward@mmc.edu

Monique Forskin-Bennerman

Monique M. Forskin-Bennerman, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Associate Dean for Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: mbennerman@mmc.edu

Billy R. Ballard

Billy R. Ballard, M.D., D.D.S.

Associate Dean
Continuing Medical Education
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6636
Email: brballard@mmc.edu

Dr. Larry Alexnader_0543 sq

Larry D. Alexander, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Curriculum and Innovation
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6987
Email: ldalexander@mmc.edu

Richmond A. Akatue

Richmond A. Akatue, M.D., M.S.C.I., F.A.C.P.

Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official, School of Medicine Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Director
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6611
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: internalmedicine@mmc.edu

Theodora Pinnock

Theodora Pinnock, M.D.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5848
Email: tpinnock@mmc.edu

Ruth Stewart

Ruth Stewart, M.D.

Associate Dean, Medical Education
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5859
Appointments: 615.860.7511
Email: rsteward@mmc.edu

Calvin Smith

Calvin Smith, M.D.

Assistant Dean of Admissions
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5930
Email: cmsmith@mmc.edu

Susanne Tropez-Sims

Susanne Tropez-Sims, M.D., M.P.H.

Associate Dean of Clinical Affiliations
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6925
Email: stsims@mmc.edu

Assistant Deans

Virginia McMath_1372sq

Virginia McMath, Ed.D, MBA

Assistant Dean
Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6413
Email: vmcmath@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

E. Terrell Washington, M.S.

Assistant Dean for Special Programs
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5966
Email: twashington@mmc.edu

Dean’s Office Staff

no-image placeholder

Mitzy H. Johnson, Ed.D.

Executive Associate
Office of the Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6310
Email: mjohnson@mmc.edu

Tamela Ensrud

Tamela Ensrud

Fiscal Officer
Office of the Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6090
Email: tensrud@mmc.edu

Cynthia Yeldell Anderson

Cynthia Yeldell Anderson, M.B.A., M.S.

Communications & Digital Marketing Director
Office of the Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5665
Email: cyeldell@mmc.edu

Basic Sciences

Samuel E. Adunyah

Samuel E. Adunyah, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience and Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6446
Email: sadunyah@mmc.edu

Fernando Villalta

Fernando Villalta, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Microbiology, Immunology and Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6667
Email: fvillalta@mmc.edu

Regina Offodile_2019 sq

Regina Offodile, M.D.

Interim Chair, Professional and Medical Education

School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6342
Email: roffodile@mmc.edu

Clinical Sciences

Richard Fremont

Richard Fremont, M.D.

Chair and Associate Professor
Internal Medicine
School: Medicine

POffice Phone: 615.327.6277
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: rfremont@mmc.edu

Digna S. Forbes

Digna S. Forbes, M.D.

Interim Chair and Associate Professor, Pathology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6429
Email: dforbes@mmc.edu

Xylina D. Bean

Xylina D. Bean, M.D.

Chair and Professor
Pediatric Medicine
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6332
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: xbean@mmc.edu

Anthony Disher

Anthony Disher, M.D.

Professor and Chairman
Radiology
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5625
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: adisher@mmc.edu

Gwinett M. Ladsen

Gwinnett M. Ladson, M.D., FACOG

Chair and Professor
OB/GYN
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6753
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: gladson@mmc.edu

Millard D. Collins

Millard D. Collins, M.D.

Chair and Associate Professor
Family and Community Medicine
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6572
Appointments: 615.860.7511
Email: mcollins@mmc.edu

Carlton Adams

Carlton Z. Adams, M.D.

Chair
Associate Professor Surgery
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6342
Email: czadams@mmc.edu

Lloyda Williamson

Lloyda Williamson, M.D., D.F.A.P.A.

Chair and Professor
Psychiatry
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6606
Email: lwilliamson@mmc.edu

Duane T. Smoot

Duane T. Smoot, M.D., F.A.C.P., F.A.C.G., A.G.A.F.

Interim Senior Vice President for Health Affairs
School of Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: dsmoot@mmc.edu

Sustin Anderson_7748 sq

Sustin Anderson, MBA

Executive Director
Meharry Medical Group
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6914
Email: andersons@mmc.edu

Walter Parker

Walter Parker, MBA, CPA, JD

Fiscal Officer
Meharry Medical Group
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.963.3176
Email: wparker@mmc.edu

Stephanie McClure

Stephanie C. McClure, M.D., FACP

Senior Associate Dean
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6413
Email: smcclure@mmc.edu

Monique Forskin-Bennerman

Monique M. Forskin-Bennerman, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Associate Dean for Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: mbennerman@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

E. Terrell Washington, M.S.

Assistant Dean for Special Programs
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5966
Email: twashington@mmc.edu

Virginia McMath_1372sq

Virginia McMath, Ed.D, MBA

Assistant Dean
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6413
Email: vmcmath@mmc.edu

Jo Ann Pettus-Mayes

Jo Ann Pettus-Mayes

Administrative Assistant, Senior
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6959
Email: jmayes@mmc.edu

James Ensley

James Ensley

Director, Computer-based Training
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.321.2984
Email: jensley@mmc.edu

Charles Wilson

Charles Wilson

Teaching Assistant I
Development Assistant
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6965
Email: cfwilson@mmc.edu

Melicent Davis square

Melicent Smith, MBA

Program Manager
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6888
Email: mdavis@mmc.edu

The Office of Student Academic Affairs (OSAA) advocates on behalf of various student needs. We encourage students to drop by and get familiar with the services offered before an issue becomes chronic, particularly during any transitional periods that may occur during their time at Meharry.

We are here to assist you with:

  • Academic counseling
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Letters of good academic standing
  • Dean’s letters
  • Registration
  • Class schedules
  • Clerkship schedules
  • Issues related to the USMLE and NBME examinations
  • Subject-board concerns
  • Student correspondence, including financial aid
  • ERAS applications
  • Dean’s Excuses
  • VSAS information
  • Monitoring of computer testing

Please consider our office your ‘safe zone’ during your time at Meharry, a place where you are welcome and will have needs met efficiently.

Contact SOM Office of the Dean

Suite 1221 Harold D. West
Basic Sciences Building

1005 Dr. D. B. Todd, Jr. Blvd.
Nashville, Tennessee 37208-3599
Telephone: 615.327.6204