Administration

The Dean

Veronica T. Mallett

Veronica T. Mallett, M.D., MMM

Senior Vice President, Health Affairs,
Dean, School of Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6204
Email: vmallett@mmc.edu

Senior Associate Deans

Stephanie McClure

Stephanie C. McClure, M.D., FACP

Senior Associate Dean
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6413
Email: smcclure@mmc.edu

Duane T. Smoot

Duane T. Smoot, M.D., F.A.C.P., F.A.C.G., A.G.A.F.

Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Professor
Internal Medicine
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: dsmoot@mmc.edu

Associate Deans

Roland E. Jones

Roland E. Jones, D.B.A., M.P.A., M.B.A.

Associate Dean
Business & Finance
School of Medicine Dean’s Office
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6122
Email: rjones@mmc.edu

Cassandra Ward

Cassandra Ward, Ed.D.

Associate Dean
Curriculum Evaluation & Effectiveness
School of Medicine Dean’s Office
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6048
Email: cward@mmc.edu

Monique Forskin-Bennerman

Monique M. Forskin-Bennerman, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Assistant Professor Internal Medicine,
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs,
Clerkship Director
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: mbennerman@mmc.edu

Billy R. Ballard

Billy R. Ballard, M.D., D.D.S.

Associate Dean
Continuing Medical Education;
Chairman & Professor, Pathology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6636
Email: brballard@mmc.edu

Digna S. Forbes

Digna S. Forbes, M.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Dean
Medical Education, Pathology, Anatomy & Cell Biology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6429
Email: dforbes@mmc.edu

Susanne Tropez-Sims

Susanne Tropez-Sims, M.D., M.P.H.

Professor, Associate Dean
Academic Affiliations, Pediatric Medicine
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6925
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: stsims@mmc.edu

Assistant Deans

Sharon Turner-Friley

Sharon Turner-Friley, M.S.W.

Assistant Dean for Special Programs
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5966
Email: sfriley@mmc.edu

Shana Hill

Shana Hill, M. Ed.

Assistant Dean
Student and Academic Affairs
School:Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6731
Email: shill@mmc.edu

Richmond A. Akatue

Richmond A. Akatue, M.D., M.S.C.I., F.A.C.P.

Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official, School of Medicine Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Director
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6611
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: internalmedicine@mmc.edu

Dean’s Office Staff

Margaret Robinson

Margaret Robinson, MPA

Executive Associate
Office of the Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6310
Email: robinsonm@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Charlese (Illonda) McPherson

Administrative Assistant
Office of the Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6337
Email: imcpherson@mmc.edu

Cynthia Yeldell Anderson

Cynthia Yeldell Anderson, M.B.A., M.S.

Communications & Digital Marketing Manager
Office of the Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.5665
Email: cyeldell@mmc.edu

Tamela Ensrud

Tamela Ensrud

Fiscal Officer
Office of the Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6090
Email: tensrud@mmc.edu

Alex Armstrong

Alex Armstrong, M.B.A.

Fiscal Officer
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: aarmstrong@mmc.edudu

Basic Sciences

Samuel E. Adunyah

Samuel E. Adunyah, Ph.D.

Chair, Professor
Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience & Pharmacology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6446
Email: sadunyah@mmc.edu

Fernando Villalta

Fernando Villalta, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Physiology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6667
Email: fvillalta@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Larry Alexander, Ph.D.

Chair and Associate Professor,
Integrated Didactics
School: Medicine

Email: ldalexander@mmc.edu

Clinical Sciences

Richard Fremont

Richard Fremont, M.D.

Interim Chair and Associate Professor
Internal Medicine
School: Medicine

POffice Phone: 615.327.6277
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: rfremont@mmc.edu

Billy R. Ballard

Billy R. Ballard, M.D., D.D.S.

Associate Dean
Continuing Medical Education;
Chairman & Professor, Pathology
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6636
Email: brballard@mmc.edu

Xylina D. Bean

Xylina D. Bean, M.D.

Chair & Professor
Pediatric Medicine
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6332
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: xbean@mmc.edu

Anthony Disher

Anthony Disher, M.D.

Professor & Chairman
Radiology
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5625
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: adisher@mmc.edu

Gwinett M. Ladsen

Gwinnett M. Ladson, M.D., FACOG

Chair and Professor
OB/GYN
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6753
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: gladson@mmc.edu

Millard D. Collins

Millard D. Collins, M.D.

Chair & Associate Professor
Family & Community Medicine
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6572
Appointments: 615.860.7511
Email: mcollins@mmc.edu

Alphonse Pasipanodya

Alphonse Pasipanodya, M.D.

Acting Chair,
Associate Professor Surgery
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5970
Appointments: 615.327.6348
Email: apasipanodya@mmc.edu

Lloyda Williamson

Lloyda Williamson, M.D., D.F.A.P.A.

Chair & Professor
Psychiatry
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6606
Email: lwilliamson@mmc.edu

Veronica T. Mallett

Veronica T. Mallett, M.D., MMM

Senior Vice President for Health Affairs,
Dean
School of Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6204
Email: vmallett@mmc.edu

Duane T. Smoot

Duane T. Smoot, M.D., F.A.C.P., F.A.C.G., A.G.A.F.

Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Professor
Internal Medicine
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: dsmoot@mmc.edu

Walter Parker

Walter Parker, MBA, CPA, JD

Fiscal Officer
Meharry Medical Group
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.963.3176
Email: wparker@mmc.edu

Stephanie McClure

Stephanie C. McClure, M.D., FACP

Executive Vice Dean
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6413
Email: smcclure@mmc.edu

Monique Forskin-Bennerman

Monique M. Forskin-Bennerman, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Assistant Professor Internal Medicine,
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs,
Clerkship Director
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6277
Email: mbennerman@mmc.edu

Sharon Turner-Friley

Sharon Turner-Friley, M.S.W.

Assistant Dean for Special Programs
Student Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.5966
Email: sfriley@mmc.edu

Shana Hill

Shana Hill, M. Ed.

Assistant Dean
Student and Academic Affairs
School:Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6731
Email: shill@mmc.edu

Jo Ann Pettus-Mayes

Jo Ann Pettus-Mayes

Administrative Assistant, Senior
Student and Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6959
Email: jmayes@mmc.edu

James Ensley

James Ensley

Director, Computer-based Training
Student and Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.321.2984
Email: jensley@mmc.edu

Charles Wilson

Charles Wilson

Teaching Assistant I
Development Assistant
Student and Academic Affairs
School: Medicine

Office Phone: 615.327.6965
Email: cfwilson@mmc.edu

The Office of Student and Academic Affairs (OSAA) advocates on behalf of various student needs. We encourage students to drop by and get familiar with the services offered before an issue becomes chronic, particularly during any transitional periods that may occur during their time at Meharry.

We are here to assist you with:

  • Academic counseling
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Letters of good academic standing
  • Dean’s letters
  • Registration
  • Class schedules
  • Clerkship rotations
  • Issues related to the USMLE and NBME examinations
  • Health Careers Opportunity Program (HCOP) activities (post­baccalaureate, pre-matriculation, and pipeline) and examinations
  • Subject-board concerns
  • Student correspondence, including financial aid
  • ERAS application
  • Personal issues

We also set up and monitor computer testing for the School of Medicine; Basic Sciences, Part 1 Dental and Clinical science cases for the junior and senior medical students; and we also process VSAS information.

Please consider our office your ‘safe zone’ during your time at Meharry, a place where you are welcome and will have needs met efficiently.

Contact Student & Academic Affairs

Suite 1103 Harold D. West
Basic Sciences Center

1005 Dr. D. B. Todd, Jr. Blvd.
Nashville, Tennessee 37208-3599
Telephone: 615.327.6413