Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME)

A Message from Dean Sonja Harris-Haywood M.D., M.S., MA

Meharry Medical College School of Medicine is proactively gearing up for our upcoming Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) survey visit scheduled for April 8-9, 2024. Following the LCME’s recommendation to place our medical degree program on probation in December 2022, we have seized this opportunity to implement substantial operational and infrastructure enhancements. It is important to note that our program remains accredited, and the probation status has been instrumental in driving positive changes within the School of Medicine.


Alongside the School of Medicine, we have taken a proactive approach to address the feedback and concerns of students. To field your needs, the School of Medicine has provided monthly town hall meetings and ‘You Asked, We Did!’ logs – which were well received by students based on their feedback on transparency. Following the last survey visit, the Assistant Secretary for LCME and Director of Medical Education provided positive feedback for the School of Medicine. In September 2023, we began working with experts who specialize in LCME accreditation to help with operational remediations. Some remediations include:


  • At least 60 classrooms, conference rooms, and study rooms upgraded with new technology including monitors, stationary webcams, conferencing cameras, new audio systems, ceiling microphones for conference calls, and new laser projectors.


Finally, we will have an LCME mock survey visit in the first week of March and an official survey visit during the second week of April. Dr. Monique Bennerman-Duncan, Sr. Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, plans to contact students for their participation in both visits. I look forward to the outcome after the April site visit and am extremely confident in redefining Meharry Medical College School of Medicine as a top-tier medical institution.


Sonja Harris-Haywood, M.D., M.S., MA
Dean, Meharry Medical College School of Medicine

On March 20-23, 2022, Meharry Medical College, School of Medicine will host a visit from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). Medical education programs leading to the MD degree in the United States and Canada are accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). The LCME is jointly sponsored by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the American Medical Association (AMA).


To achieve and maintain accreditation, a medical education program leading to the MD degree in the United States and Canada must meet the LCME accreditation standards contained in the LCME document Functions and Structure of a Medical School. LCME accredited schools are required to demonstrate that their graduates exhibit general professional competencies that are appropriate for entry to the next stage of their training and that serve as the foundation for lifelong learning and proficient medical care.


Most state boards of licensure require that U.S. medical schools granting the MD degree be accredited by the LCME as a condition for licensure of their graduates. Eligibility of U.S. students in MD-granting schools to take the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) requires LCME accreditation of their school. Graduates of LCME-accredited schools are eligible for residency programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). This visit and review occurs every 8 years.


The School of Medicine is preparing for the next LCME survey visit on April 8-9, 2024. MMCSOM will receive a final decision on its accreditation status in June or October 2024. LCME accreditation allows students to complete the National Board of Medical Examiners’ Step exams (i.e., Step 1 and 2 in undergraduate medical education programs, and Step 3 in graduate medical education programs). Accreditation ensures that: 1. The school’s medical education program meets accreditation standards. 2. The school’s medical degree prepares graduates for acceptance into residency programs (graduate medical education).


Dr. Sonja Harris-Haywood


Executive Vice President and Provost

Dr. Jeanette South-Paul


Faculty Accreditation Lead

Dr. Monique ForskinBennerman Duncan


Staff Visit Coordinator

Dr. Andrew Hillman

Standard 1: Mission, Planning, Organization, and Integrity

Standard Lead – Dr. Sonja Harris-Haywood


Standard 2: Leadership and Administration

Standard Lead – Dr. Sonja Harris-Haywood


Standard 3: Academic and Learning Environments

Standard Lead – Dr. Samuel Adunyah


Standard 4: Faculty Preparation, Productivity, Participation, and Policies

Standard Lead – Dr. Allysceaeioun Britt


Standard 5: Educational Resources and Infrastructure

Standard Lead – Dr. Roland Jones


Standard 6: Competencies, Curricular Objectives, and Curricular Design

Standard Lead – Dr. Sonja Harris-Haywood


Standard 7: Curricular Content

Standard Lead – Dr. Sonja Harris-Haywood


Standard 8: Curricular Management, Evaluation, and Enhancement

Standard Lead – Dr. Cassandra Ward


Standard 9: Teaching, Supervision, Assessment, and Student and Patient Safety

Standard Lead – Dr. Monique Forskin-Bennerman Duncan


Standard 10: Medical Student Selection, Assignment, and Progress

Standard Lead – Dr. Theodora Pinnock


Standard 11: Medical Student Academic Support, Career Advising, and Educational Records

Standard Lead – Dr. Susanne Tropez-Simms


Standard 12: Medical Student Health Services, Personal Counseling, and Financial Aid Services

Standard Lead – Dr. Sonja Harris-Haywood

Standard Lead – Dr. Dexter Samuels