Administration

The Dean

Cherae M. Farmer-Dixon

Cherae M. Farmer-Dixon, DDS, MSPH, FACD

Dean and Professor
School of Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6207
Email: cdixon@mmc.edu

Vice & Associate Deans

Sandra G. Harris

Sandra G. Harris, DDS, FACD

Executive Vice Dean
School: Medicine

Phone: 615.327.6876
Email: harriss@mmc.edu

Walter R. Owens

Walter R. Owens, DDS, FACD, FICD

Associate Dean & Assistant Professor
Development and External Affairs
Office of the Dean
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6656
Email: wowens@mmc.edu

Dean’s Office Staff

Celeste Bishop Stein, MSJ

Executive Assoc./ Marketing
Office of the Dean

Vanessa Pugh

Project Coordinator
Office of the Dean

Administrative Assistant, Senior
Business and Finance

Jalilah Haqq

Administrative Assistant, Senior
Business and Finance

James E. Tyus

James E. Tyus, DDS

Chair and Professor
Restorative Dentistry
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6125
Email: jtyus@mmc.edu

Gibson Johnson Jr.

Gibson Johnson, Jr., DDS

Associate Professor and Chair
Oral Diagnostic Sciences
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6147
Email: gjohnson@mmc.edu

Jacinta P. Leavell

Jacinta P. Leavell, MS, PhD

Professor and Chair
Dental Public Health
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6682
Email: jleavell@mmc.edu

Sandra G. Harris

Sandra G. Harris, DDS, FACD

Vice Dean and Associate Professor
Office of the Dean
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6876
Email: harriss@mmc.edu

Julie Gray

Julie Gray, DDS

Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Assistant Professor
Office of Student Affairs
School: Dentistry

Phone:615.327.5820
Email: jgray@mmc.edu

Charles W. Williams

Charles W. Williams, DDS

Professor and Chair
Oral Maxillofacial Surgery
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6184
Email: cwilliams@mmc.edu

Office of Business & Finance

no-image placeholder

Ayodele Odiduro, JD, MBA

Associate Dean for Finance & Administration
Office of the Dean
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6408
Email: aodiduro@mmc.edu

no-image placeholder

Kortney M. Warren

Fiscal Officer
Office of the Dean
School:Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6656
Email: kwarren@mmc.edu

Office of Clinical Affairs

Shawna R. Chesser

Shawna R. Chesser, D.D.S.

Associate Dean and Assistant Professor
Clinical Affairs
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6605
Email: schesser@mmc.edu

Machelle F. Thompson

Machelle F. Thompson, RDH, MSPH

Assistant Dean, Clinical Affairs
Director of Compliance
Associate Professor, Dental Public health
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6605
Email: mfthompson@mmc.edu

Office of Development & External Affairs

Walter R. Owens

Walter R. Owens, DDS, FACD, FICD

Associate Dean and Assistant Professor
Development and External Affairs
Office of the Dean
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6656
Email: wowens@mmc.edu

Gerald Davis II

Gerald Davis II, DDS, MA

Interim Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs
and Assistant Professor
Office of Academic Affairs
School: Dentistry

Phone: 615.327.6784
Email: davisg@mmc.edu

Julie Gray

Julie Gray, DDS

Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Assistant Professor
Office of Student Affairs
School: Dentistry

Phone:615.327.5820
Email: jgray@mmc.edu

The Office of Academic and Student Affairs has one priority—the academic success of each student.

 

While this is a priority campus-wide, we have the unique perspective and responsibility to help dental students thrive and succeed in an environment where excellence is the standard—they have accepted a challenge, the training is rigorous, and we ensure they have access to the support that is necessary to achieve.

 

What makes us unique is our comprehensive approach to students’ academic, professional, and social development. We accomplish this by:

  • Monitoring academic performance
  • Assisting with tutorial services
  • Providing other academic support instruments
  • Promoting research
  • Supporting student organizations
  • Encouraging social development
  • Awarding scholarships
  • Mentorship

 

By taking time to connect with each student, we gauge our support on a very individualized level, customized to meet his or her specific needs.

Contact Student & Academic Affairs

Office of Academic and Student Affairs
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd, Jr. Blvd.
Nashville, Tennessee 37208
Telephone: 615.327.6784