Reunion and Homecoming 2022

Reunion Homecoming Social Schedule

Registration required for all events. Capacity may be limited due to COVID-19 protocols.
Event details may be subject to change.

Wednesday, May 18

 

4:30-5:30 p.m.
Deans’ Meet and Greet Reception

 

School of Dentistry, Lobby

 

School of Medicine Harold D. West Basic Sciences Center, Lobby

 

School of Graduate Studies and Research – West Basic Sciences Center – Room #2006 (tentative)

 

5:30-7:30 p.m.
Meharry Alumni Happy Hour

 

Germantown Pub
708 Monroe Street
Nashville, TN 37208

 

Thursday, May 19

 

6:30-8:30 p.m.
Meharry Alumni Circle Dinner
Reception/Dinner

 

Renaissance Hotel, Ballroom

(by invitation only)

 

7-9 p.m.
Let’s Reminisce Jazz on the Lawn

 

S. S. Kresge Learning Resource Center (LRC) Lawn

 

9-11 p.m.
Meharry Alumni Rooftop Mixer

 

The Westin Nashville Hotel
807 Clark Place
Parking — $10

 

Special Recognition: 10 Under 10

Friday, May 20

 

7:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.
MNAA Golf Tournament

 

Ted Rhodes Golf Course
1901 Ed Temple Blvd.

 

9-11 a.m.
Nurses Breakfast

 

First Floor, Hulda Margaret Lyttle Hall

 

6-8:30 p.m.
50th Golden Anniversary Celebration Dinner

 

Renaissance Hotel, Ballroom 1

 

6:30-8:30 p.m.
25th Silver Anniversary Celebration

 

Renaissance Hotel, SOBRO Room

 

7:30-8:30 p.m.
Class Pictures & Cocktails

 

Renaissance Hotel, Ballroom

 

8:30 p.m. — 12:00 Midnight
Reunion Homecoming Party

 

National Museum of African American Music
510 Broadway Street

Saturday, May 21

 

11:30 a.m.-2 p.m.
Alumni Picnic

 

Harold D. West Basic Sciences Center Lawn

**Inclement weather, First Floor Lobby, The Cal Turner Family Center for Student Education

 

6:30 p.m. Reception; 7 p.m. Dinner
National Alumni Association Scholarship Dinner

 

TBD

 

Attire: Cocktail

Sunday, May 22

 

10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Alumni Farewell Champagne Brunch

 

TBD

Continuing Education Courses

via ZOOM or Hybrid format

THEME: EVOLUTION OF HEALTH CARE FOR THE 21st CENTURY

May 18 – 20, 2022

Stanley S. Kresge Learning Resources Center (LRC)

Lecture Halls 3 and 4

Wednesday, May 18

8:30-9 a.m.

Greetings and Welcome to the College’s

Commencement/Reunion Week Continuing Education Courses    

James E.K. Hildreth, Ph.D., M.D., President and CEO

Meharry Medical College                            

9:20-10:30 a.m.

Advances in Mental Health and Telehealth

Lloyda B. Williamson, M.D. ’90, DFAPA, FAACAP
Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Interim Psychiatry Residency Program Director
Board Certified Child, Adolescent and Adult Psychiatrist
Executive Director, Lloyd C. Elam Mental Health Center
Meharry Medical College
Tennessee ROCAP President

10:35-11:40 a.m.

All Flu Antivirals Are Not Created Equal: Choosing the

Right Influenza Therapy in a COVID-19 World

Robert H. Hopkins, M.D., University of Arkansas, Little Rock

BREAK

12:10-1:30 p.m.

Cleve Ewell Memorial Heritage Lecture

David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D.

2-4 p.m.           

Social (In)Justice in Medicine

Linda Clayton, M.D.

Thursday, May 19

8-10 a.m.   

Esthetics in the General Practice

JoKeidre’ Butler, D.D.S. ’12

10 a.m.-Noon

Dental Trauma in the Pediatric and Adolescent Patient

Racquel Johnson, D.M.D.

9-11 a.m.         

The Evolution of Healthcare Delivery

Moderator: Millard Collins, M.D. ’01

Panelists: Mark Greenwell, Sustin Anderson and Paul Rich

11:30 a.m.-12:45 p.m.

Are You in a Financial Pandemic?

(Interdisciplinary session)

Panelists TBA

BREAK

1-3 p.m.           

What’s In A Name?—Breaking Down the Barriers of Gender Assumption from the Operator’s Perspective as well as the Patient’s

Michele Collins, D.D.S. ’20

 

2-4 p.m.           

Ethics in Health Care in the COVID 19 Era

Moderator: Xylina Bean, M.D.

Panelists:
Carey Szetela, Ph.D.: “Overview of Ethics in Health Care Delivery”
Vladimir Berthaud, M.D., Ph.D.: “Low Participation of African Americans and Other
Minority Groups in Clinical Trials—Effect and Outcomes”
Christopher Keefer, M.D.: “Pediatric Infectious Disease”
Sanika Chirwa, M.D. “Impact of Disparate Distribution of Vaccines and
Availability Internationally”       

3-5 p.m.           

Substance Use Disorder and Prescription Writing in Dentistry

David Sain, D.D.S.

Friday, May 20

8-10 a.m.

A Review in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery for the General Dentist

Shakasha L Scruggs-Williams, D.D.S. ’12

8:30-10:30 a.m.   

Evolution of Health Care in OB-GYN

Moderator, Edward Hills, M.D. ’66

Panelists:
Angelica Garrett, M.D. ’10 (Management of Transgender Patients)
Georgina Iyamu, M.D. ’15 (Sperm Preservation)
Donald Alcendor, Ph.D. (COVID Updates: Pregnant Women and Children)

10 a.m.-Noon

Poster Presentations by Dental Residents

(co-presented with faculty physically present)
Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, The General Practice Residency Clinic and the Oral Surgery Clinic.

10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Utilizing Social Media in Healthcare (Internal Medicine)

Identify social media platforms; increasing social media presence; dangers, benefits and pitfalls

 Moderator: Calvin Smith, MD ’10

Panelists: TBA

1-3 p.m. 

What Every Dentist Should Know About Oral Mucosal Wound Healing

Zaid H. Khoury, D.D.S., Ph.D., DABOMP, FAAOMP
Associate Professor, Oral Diagnostic Sciences

2:15 – 3:15 p.m.

School of Dentistry Museum Tour

 

Renaissance Nashville Hotel
611 Commerce Street
Nashville, TN 37203, US

 

Reservation link:
SOLD OUT

 

Date: May 18, 2022 – May 22, 2022

 

Reunion Overflow Hotel:

 

Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
2100 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203

 

$259.00 per night/plus taxes
Reserve Now

 

Note: Rooms are only available Friday, May 20 and Saturday, May 21

All arrangements pending. Come back for details.

Oops! We could not locate your form.

All arrangements pending. Come back for details.

Liaisons

Gloria Sanders
gsanders@mmc.edu
615.327.6512

1942, 1947, 1952, 1957, 1962, 1967, 1972

Linda Witt
lwitt@mmc.edu
615.327.6396

1982

Michelle Viera | Wendy Nadeau
mviera@mmc.edu | wnadeau@mmc.edu
615.327.6045 | 615.327.6831

1977, 1987, 1992, 1997, 2002, 2007

Rahwa Mehari
rmehari@mmc.edu
615.327.6857

2012, 2017

Class Agents

CLASS OF 1942

CLASS OF 1947

CLASS OF 1952

Abraham Peterson Jr., D.D.S.

CLASS OF 1957

Barbara Watkins, MT — blwmhw@mindspring.com

CLASS OF 1962

Mable Densler, RN — wesmae4627@aol.com

Audrey Glover-Hall, RN — ahall58082@aol.com

Melvyn Huckaby, D.D.S. — drmehuck@yahoo.com

Franklyn Seabrooks, M.D.

CLASS OF 1967

Coyness Ennix, M.D. — coynessennix@gmail.com

Edgar O. Mandeville, M.D. — eomandeville@aol.com

Percy Moss, M.D. — mhmoss@ameritec.net

James Potts, M.D. — james.pott01@comcast.net

Mark Robinson, D.D.S. — grammyandpapaof8@gmail.com

CLASS OF 1972

Velma Hunter Jackson, D.D.S — Drvelmahjackson@aol.com

John Maupin, D.D.S. — jmaupinjr@gmail.com

Isaac Ravizee, M.D. — icr623@bellsouth.net

Geraldine Joiner Thornton, D. D. S. — gjoinerdds@aol.com

Terrell William Jr., M.D. — doctert@bellsouth.net

CLASS OF 1977

Alfreda Blackshear, M.D. — adbmd2002@yahoo.com

Freddie Davis, D.D.S. — fndd@yahoo.com

Andrew Hazley, M.D. — andrewhazleymd@gmail.com

CLASS OF 1982

Jasmine Bowers — bowers616@aol.com

Cleo Carter, M.D. — ccmd@comcast.net

Angela Gaskin, M.D. — docdad003@aol.com

Mary Watts Kellar, D.D.S. — mary.kellar@comcast.net

Deveta C. Peoples, D.D. S. — deveop@bellsouth.net

Dennis M. Rogers, D.D.S. — Rogers0813@att.net

Thomas A. Scott, M.D. — nupedoc@gmail.com

James Womack, M.D. — jimimcdadi@aol.com

CLASS OF 1987

Anthony Calloway, M.D. — bowcal@aol.com

Lewis Hargett, M.D. — lewishargett@gmail.com

Wesley King, D.D.S. — wking49139@aol.com

Henry Young Jr., D.D.S. — hyoung@mmc.edu

CLASS OF 1992

Sandeep Chandra, M.D. — sandeepchandra1@gmail.com

Ronald Colman M.D. — ron.colman@gmail.com

William P. Davis, D.D.S. — wpddas@gmail.com

Karen A. Love, M.D. — royallove@comcast.net

Roderick A. Love, M.D. — rodlove@comcast.net

Yvette Stokes, D.D.S. — ymstokes@gmail.com

CLASS OF 1997

Janice Riley-Burt, M.D. — janice.burt@att.net

Alicia Hall, M.D. — ahallmd@gmail.com

Remelda Saunders-Jones, M.D. — rsaundersjones@aol.com

CLASS OF 2002

Kimberley Caldwell, D.D.S. — kimberleycaldwelldds@gmail.com

Paul Colthrist, D.D.S. — pmthrist@yahoo.com

Marloin Cumming, D.D.S. — marloin@me.com

Racquel R. Daley-Placide, M.D. — racquel_d@yahoo.com

Cristy Fletcher, D.D.S. — cfletcher2002@aol.com

Corey Hartman, M.D. — drhartman@skinwellness.com

Tasmia Henry, M.D. — tqhenry@gmail.com

Kimberly Hodge Bell, Ph.D. — thebells3@gmail.com

Lidya Jorge, M.D. — Ljdoc@aol.com

Mark Lester, M.D. — Mark.LesterMD@BLDentistry.com

Erica McCoy Edmonds, D.D.S. — e.edmonds@lives.com

Machelle Thompson, MSPH — mfthompson@mmc.edu

David Travillion Sr., M.D. — dtravillion@netscape.net

CLASS OF 2007

Laurentis Barnett, D.D.S. — laurentisb@yahoo.com

Aisha Baron, M.D. — aishabaron24@gmail.com

Adaira Ford-Collins, D.D.S. — acollinsdds@gmail.com

Cory D. Harris, M.D. — cdharris07@gmail.com

LaErrol T. Johnson, D.D.S. — ltjohnson@ofsih.com

Cory D. Lamar, M.D. — cdlamar2@gmail.com

Zanetta Lamar, M.D.

Heather O’Hara, M.D. — charlesheather93@gmail.com

CLASS OF 2012

Reuben Batley, M.D. — Robattley@aol.com

Charlton “Ryan” Conner, D.D.S. — rycon386@gmail.com

Bianca Frederick, D.D.S. — frederickbianca@yahoo.com

Heather Horton, M.D. — dr.heather.horton@gmail.com

Lori Johnson, D.D.S. — lori.j25@gmail.com

Paul Johnson, M.D. — pjohnson08.2012@gmail.com

Martial “Isaac” Lavant, D.D.S. — ilavant92@yahoo.com

Patricia Millner, M.D. — Patricia.Millner@gmail.com

CLASS OF 2017

Kara Baker, M.D. — KaraBMD@gmail.com

James Capers, D.D.S. — jamesbcapers@gmail.com

Kathryn Harris, M.D. — harris.kat2021@gmail.com

Bianca Marks, M.D. — drbiancamarks@gmail.com

Sara Nelson-Owens, M.D. — snelsonowens@gmail.com