Division of Finance

The Division of Finance oversees five departments that, collectively, ensure that the financial resources of Meharry Medical College are distributed, accounted for, and reported accurately. Led by Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer LaMel Bandy-Neal, the Division’s responsibilities extend to on-campus services such as housing, postal and printing needs. The following list outlines the various departments and their respective assignments:

 

Student Financial Services

  • Federal and campus-based student loan programs
  • Student aid

 

Treasury Services

  • Financial assets and resources of the College
  • Financial information, systems and policies that meet regulatory and other external requirements
  • Operational needs of the College’s departments
  • Service needs of students, alumni, faculty, and fellow employees

 

Office of the Controller

  • Financial accounting and reporting functions, including payroll, procurement, accounts payable, property management and grants/contracts
  • Compliance regarding College, state and federal requirements, guidelines and laws

 

Office of Financial Planning and Analysis

  • Development/ Management of the College’s annual operating and capital budget
  • Financial Analysis
  • Ad Hoc Reporting

 

Auxiliary Services

  • Mail services
  • Print services
  • Campus housing
  • College bookstore
  • Vending services

Meharry Medical College recognizes the importance of funding a professional level education, and the Department of Student Financial Services remains committed to helping students achieve their funding goals. The primary responsibility of this team is to manage all federal and campus-based student loan programs, and to receive and disburse student aid in an accurate, efficient, and timely manner while complying with regulatory requirements. The department also sponsors Financial Literacy workshops twice a year.

 

In addition to serving students, the department gives back to the local community each year by participating in the Angel tree program and adopting a nursing home during Christmas; they also provide school supplies to needy children. It’s just another way this team fulfills Meharry’s mission.

Student Financial Aid

In keeping in step with Meharry’s mission, the Office of Student Financial Aid provides pertinent information on graduate and professional school funding to help you attain your professional goals. We advise prospective students, current students, and alumni on all aspects of student aid including:

  • Application process
  • Available funding
  • Consumer credit
  • Debt management
  • Political issues affecting students and their financial futures

 

If you’re not sure how much to borrow or how financial aid may be used, use the following links to view estimated financial aid budgets for:

Contact Student Financial Services

Student Financial Services
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd, Jr., Blvd.
S.S. Kresge Learning Resource Center, Suite 511
Nashville, Tennessee 37208
Telephone: 615.327.6220

Meharry Medical College
Office of Student Financial Aid
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd Jr. Blvd.
Nashville, Tennessee 37208
Phone: 615.327.6826
Email: finaid@mmc.edu

Staff

Roxie Johnson

Director
615.327.6356
rjohnson@mmc.edu

LaTosha Jackson-Warfield

Secretary Senior
615.327.6220
ljacksonwarfield@mmc.edu

Florence Adom

Student Financial Manager
615.327.6052
fadom@mmc.edu

Rhoda Summers

Student Financial Manager
615.327.6931
rsummers@mmc.edu

Rochelle Tisdale

Student Financial Manager
615.327.6859
rtisdale@mmc.edu

The primary responsibility of the Department of Treasury Services is to appropriately coordinate and execute the receipt, disbursement, custody, and safeguarding of the financial assets and resources of the College. In support of the institution’s overall mission, we strive to provide financial information, systems and policies that meet regulatory and other external requirements, the operational needs of the College’s departments and the service needs of our students, alumni, faculty and fellow employees. Our aim is to help members of the College maximize the effective utilization of the organization’s financial resources, while minimizing the effort required to do so, in a manner that is consistent with the institution’s duty to provide prudent stewardship support from the community, sponsors, family, and friends.

 

In addition to serving students, the department gives back to the local community each year by participating in the Angel tree program and adopting a nursing home during Christmas; they also provide school supplies to needy children. It’s just another way this team fulfills Meharry’s mission.

Contact Treasury Services

Department of Treasury Services
Meharry Medical College
S.S. Kresge Learning Resources Center, Suite 511
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd, Jr. Blvd
Nashville, Tennessee 37208
Phone: 615.327.6220
FAX: 615.327.6317

Treasury Services Staff

Shareefah Woodson

Director of Cash Management
615.327.6685
swoodson@mmc.edu

Fatima Mukunde

Cash Management Assistant
615.327.6928
fmukunde@mmc.edu

The Office of the Controller is responsible for the financial accounting and reporting functions of Meharry Medical College, including the direction and supervision of:

  • Accounts Payable
  • Financial Accounting
  • Grants and Contracts
  • Payroll
  • Fixed Assets Management
  • Student and Employee Travel
  • Corporate Credit Card Program

 

We establish, evaluate, recommend, and enforce policies and procedures to ensure internal control; orderly, timely, and accurate processing of transactions; closing of the general ledger; and the recording and preparation of financial reports for internal and external users. We also ensure compliance regarding College, State and Federal requirements, guidelines, and laws.

Contact Us

Office of the Controller / Accounting
Phone: (615) 327-6241
Fax: (615) 327-6357
ControllerOffice@mmc.edu

Accounts Payable
Phone: (615) 327-6222
Fax: (615) 327-5905
Accounts_Payable@mmc.edu

Grants and Contracts
Phone: (615) 327-6553
Fax: (615) 327-6224
GrantsandContracts@mmc.edu

Payroll
Phone: (615) 327-6242
Fax: (615) 327-6799
Payroll@mmc.edu

Mailing Address

Meharry Medical College Office of the Controller
S.S. Kresge Learning Resources Center, Suite 501
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd, Jr. Blvd.
Nashville, Tennessee 37208

Meharry Medical College’s Department of Financial Planning and Analysis serves three key functions:

  • Development/Management of the College’s  annual operating and capital budget
  • Financial Analysis
  • Ad Hoc Reporting

 

The mission of the Financial Planning and Analysis Office is to provide decision-makers with accurate, timely, and comprehensive information to foster resource accountability and informed decision making in support of the College’s mission.  We provide high-quality, team-oriented service by anticipating needs, educating personnel, and producing accurate and timely information.

 

The Department takes Meharry’s mission beyond its walls by supporting the United Way Campaign 100% each year.

Contact Information

Financial Planning & Analysis
Meharry Medical College
1005 Dr. D. B. Todd, Jr. Blvd.
S.S. Kresge Learning Resources Center,
5th floor, Suite 502
Nashville, Tennessee
37208-3599
615.327.6768

Staff

Palace C. Reid

Senior Associate Vice President
615.327.6421
preid@mmc.edu

Bob Youngblood

Associate Director
615.327.6858
byoungblood@mmc.edu

Jared Orr

Post Award Director
615-327-6034
jorr@mmc.edu

Helen Bailey-Harney

Budget Analyst
615.327.6240
hharney@mmc.edu

The Office of Financial Systems and Auxiliary Service is comprised of five functional areas. These services include Purchasing and Central Receiving, Property Management, Auxiliary Services, and Banner Financial Systems.

 

Each area performs various services that are consistent with prudent business practices and are focused on providing great customer service.

Contact Information

Financial Systems
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd, Jr., Blvd., Room 603
S.S. Kresge Learning Resources Center Building
Nashville, Tennessee 37208

Staff

Larry Holden

Associate Vice President
615.321.2947
lholden@mmc.edu

Elizabeth Noll

Director (Auxiliary Services)
615.327.6278
enoll@mmc.edu

Davita Brown

Accounting Clerk III (Purchasing)
615.327.6339
drbrown@mmc.edu

Michael White

Receiving and Delivery Clerk
615.327.5564
mwhite@mmc.edu

Mike Crawford

Receiving and Delivery Clerk
615.327.5564
mcrawford@mmc.edu

Michael Hamlett

Clerk, Senior (Property Management)
615.327.5505
mhamlett@mmc.edu

Contact Information

Phone: (615) 327-6336
Fax: (615) 327-6214 or (615) 327-6401
HR Email: humanresources@mmc.edu
Benefits Email: benefits@mmc.edu

Human Resources Staff

Mark C. Smith

AVP, Human Resources
(615) 327-6336
mcsmith@mmc.edu

Jade Bazile

Staffing Specialist
(615) 327-6438
jbazile@mmc.edu

Moreen Scruggs

Benefits Director
(615) 327-6643
mscruggs@mmc.edu

Trini Pryor

HRIS Benefits Manager
(615) 327-6325
tpryor@mmc.edu

Kimberly Fritts

Training Specialist
(615) 327-6958
kfritts@mmc.edu

Ayanna Moore

Employee Relations Mgr
(615) 327-6618
amoore@mmc.edu

Auxiliary Services is committed to providing exceptional services and financially sound operations to the University Community. They are responsible for all aspects of operations within Mail Services, Print Services, Campus Housing, the College Bookstore, and Vending Services.

On Campus Housing Options

Charlene E. Hopkins-Goldthreate

Property Manager
(615) 327-5751
cgoldthreate@mmc.edu
campushousing@mmc.edu

Staff

Elizabeth Swope Noll

Director
615.327.6176
enoll@mmc.edu

Charlene Goldthreate

Manager, Housing
615.327.5751
cgoldthreate@mmc.edu

Barbara Jones

Lead Mail Clerk
615.327.6278
bjones@mmc.edu

Billy Carnal

Manager, Dex Imaging Copy Center
615.327.5962
copycenter@mmc.edu

Locations

  • Director of Auxiliary Services Office is located in Mail Services, in the basement of the School of Dentistry.
  • Copy Center is located in the basement of the School of Dentistry.
  • Campus Housing is located on the first floor of Royal Towers, at 944 21st Avenue North, Nashville, Tennessee, 37208